Hear my Prayer

Saturday 10 March 2012 at 7:30pm
St Cross Church, Winchester

Howells: Take him, Earth, for cherishing
Purcell - Hear my Prayer
Bob Chilcott - My Prayer
Pizzetti - De profundis
Tippett - Four Spirituals
Rubbra - Tenebrae Responses 1 and 2
Poulenc - 4 Lenten Motets
Knut Nystedt - Stabat Mater

conductor - Katherine Dienes-Williams
cello - Karen Stephenson

Tickets £17.50 (concessions £14.50); children 17 and under £5

Southern Voices made its debut performance under the baton of new musical director, Katherine Dienes-Williams, exploring the sentiments of loss, yearning, joy, sorrow and hope in this reflective programme.

British musicians -- from Purcell through to Howells, Rubbra , Tippett and contemporary composer Bob Chilcott -- featured prominently in a selection of music which will included Howells’ Take Him Earth for Cherishing, 17th and 21st century settings of Hear my Prayer and the Five Spirituals from Tippett’s oratorio A Child of our Time.

Renowned cellist Karen Stephenson performed Walton’s Passacaglia for solo cello and accompanied the singers in a haunting setting of the Stabat Mater by Norwegian composer Knut Nystedt. Composed in 1986, this work reflects the inifluences of Nystedt’s studies with the American Aaron Copland and his deep interest in Gregorian chant and the polyphony of Palestrina.

Four Penitential Motets by Poulenc represented French writing from the time of the Second World War while Pizzetti’s powerful seven-part setting of De Profundis and a setting of the Nunc Dimittis by Gustav Holst were also featured.